Posted

 

If you are thinking of becoming a substitute teacher in Kansas or Missouri, there are a few requirements you must meet before you can begin your new career.

Besides passing a background check and having the proper education, you will need to obtain one of the substitute teaching licenses required by each state. But with multiple options, it can be tough to determine which license is best for you and your career.

In order to clear up any confusion, here are the differences between the different substitute licenses in Kansas and Missouri:

Kansas Substitute Teaching Licenses

 

Professional Teaching License

If you have a current Professional Teaching License from the Kansas Department of Education, you are able to substitute teach in the state.

The Professional Teaching License is the same license that full-time teachers must obtain before they begin teaching. This license, valid for five years, is earned by verifying:

  • Completion of a bachelor’s degree
  • Completion of an approved teacher education program
  • Completion of the teaching performance assessment prescribed by the state board during the initial license period

 Standard Substitute License

The Standard Substitute Teaching License is similar to the Professional Teaching License in that you must hold a bachelor’s degree and have completed a teacher preparation program.

But unlike the Professional Teaching License, the Standard Substitute License doesn’t require the teaching performance assessment.  You must also submit one fingerprint card for the purpose of a KBI and FBI background clearance report. Order a fingerprint card

 Emergency Substitute License

For individuals who have completed a minimum of 60 semester credit hours from a regionally accredited college or university

All applicants for an initial Kansas license must submit one fingerprint card for the purpose of a KBI and FBI background clearance report.  One fingerprint card is also required for applicants whose Kansas certificate/license has been expired.

 

Missouri Substitute Teaching Licenses

 

Professional Teaching License

If you have a current Professional Teaching License from the Missouri Department of Education, you can substitute teach in the state. The Professional Teaching License is the same license that full-time teachers must obtain before they begin teaching.

  • Hold a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university. You must graduate with a minimum 2.5 GPA.
  • Complete the ABCTE program
  • Spend 60 hours (6-12) or 90 hours (elementary) in a school working with children.
  • Apply to the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) for the Missouri Initial Professional Certificate (IPC) of License to Teach. This is valid for 4 years.

Content Substitute Certificate

For substitutes in Missouri who would like to substitute teach in K-12 classrooms, you can apply for a Content Substitute certificate. To qualify, you must:

  • Complete a minimum of 60 semester hours of credit from a regionally accredited, academic degree-granting, college or university
  • Show verification of credit hours with an original transcript from the institution you attended

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *